2ND INTERNATIONAL FILM MUSIC COMPETITION 2013
AND THE WINNER IS … LAURENT COURBIER!

 

 

French pianist and composer Laurent Courbier is the winner of the second International Film Music Competition, which took place during the 9th Zurich Film Festival on 27 September 2013 at Arena Cinema 5 in Zurich. Courbier received the Golden Eye ‘Best International Film Music 2013’ endowed with a 10 000 Swiss franc cash prize.

 

The jury chose the winner from the five finalists

 

Laurent Courbier (France)
Aaron Kenny (Australia)
Felipe Senna (Brazil)
Nathan Stornetta (Switzerland)
Jan Torkewitz (Germany)

 

The shortlisted five were chosen from over 100 participants from 25 countries. Entrants were asked to score the short film Reign of Death by Matthew Savage.

 

 

The award ceremony took place during a film music concert by the Zurich Chamber Orchestra and the Zurich Jazz Orchestra under the musical direction of André Bellmont with the performance of soundtrack excerpts from legendary screen classics and blockbusters. The concert also saw the performance of ‘Crime Suite’, a medley created especially for this ZFF event using the opening themes of famous thrillers and crime series. The detailled concert programme can be downloaded here

 

Members of the evening jury Members of the nomination jury
Carlos Leal (actor and rapper)    Pepe Lienhard (bandleader)
Pepe Lienhard (bandleader) Rolf Lyssy (film director)
Rolf Lyssy (film director) Matthew Savage (director of Reign of Death)
Peter Scherer (film music composer)    Peter Scherer (film music composer)
Peter Thomas (film music composer) Peter Thomas (film music composer)

 

The International Film Music Competition was first introduced in 2012 and its venue alternates between the Tonhalle Zürich and one of the festival cinemas. The competition is a collaboration between the Zurich Film Festival and Forum Filmmusik. In 2014 it will be carried out with the Tonhalle Orchestra for the second time.

Partners

2. INTERNATIONALER FILMMUSIKWETTBEWERB 2013
AND THE WINNER IS … LAURENT COURBIER!

 

 

Der französische Pianist und Komponist Laurent Courbier ist der Gewinner des zweiten Internationalen Filmmusikwettbewerbs, der am 27. September 2013 im Rahmen des 9. Zurich Film Festival über die Bühne des Arena Cinema 5 gegangen ist. Courbier erhielt das mit 10’000 Franken dotierte Goldene Auge für die „Beste internationale Filmmusik 2013“.

 

Die Jury erkor den Sieger aus den fünf Finalisten

 

Laurent Courbier (Frankreich)
Aaron Kenny (Australien)
Felipe Senna (Brasilien)
Nathan Stornetta (Schweiz)
Jan Torkewitz (Deutschland)

 

Diese fünf Nominierten waren in einer ersten Runde aus über 100 Bewerbern aus 25 Ländern ausgewählt worden. Die Aufgabe der Bewerber bestand in der Vertonung des Kurzfilms Reign of Death von Matthew Savage.

 

 

Den Rahmen der Preisverleihung bildete ein Filmmusikkonzert. Ein aus dem Zürcher Kammerorchester und dem Zurich Jazz Orchestra formiertes Ensemble interpretierte unter der musikalischen Leitung von André Bellmont die Soundtracks berühmter Leinwandklassiker und Blockbuster. Zur Aufführung gelangte überdies die „Crime Suite“, ein eigens für das ZFF-Event arrangiertes Medley mit Melodien aus legendären Krimis und Krimiserien. Das detaillierte Konzertprogramm kann hier heruntergeladen werden. 

 

Mitglieder der Abendjury Mitglieder der Nominationsjury
Carlos Leal (Schauspieler und Rapper)    Pepe Lienhard (Bandleader)
Pepe Lienhard (Bandleader) Rolf Lyssy (Filmregisseur)
Rolf Lyssy (Filmregisseur) Matthew Savage (Regisseur von Reign of Death)
Peter Scherer (Filmmusikkomponist) Peter Scherer (Filmmusikkomponist)
Peter Thomas (Filmmusikkomponist) Peter Thomas (Filmmusikkomponist)

 

Der 2012 erstmals veranstaltete Internationale Filmmusikwettbewerb geht alternierend in der Tonhalle Zürich und einem Festival-Kino über die Bühne. Der Wettbewerb ist eine Zusammenarbeit des Zurich Film Festival mit dem Forum Filmmusik. 2014 wird der Wettbewerb wieder mit dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich stattfinden.

Partners