New York composer Leeran Z. Raphaely is the winner of the third International Film Music Competition, which took place at Zurich Tonhalle on 1st October 2014 during the 10th Zurich Film Festival. Raphaely received the Golden Eye ‘Best International Film Music 2014’ endowed with a 10 000 Swiss franc cash prize. A special mention goes to the Germany-based Russian-Romanian composer duo Lidia Kalendareva and Alin Cristian Oprea.


The award ceremony took place during a film music concert. Under the baton of Frank Strobel, Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra world-premiered the compositions of the five finalists and performed a selection of works by Hans Zimmer, who was present in person and honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by Zurich Film Festival.




The five finalists were


The shortlisted five were chosen in a first round from 231 participants from 40 countries. Entrants were asked to write a symphony orchestra score for the short film MAXIMALL by Axel Tillement, Axelle Cheriet, Hadrien Ledieu and Nawel Rahal.


Members of the evening jury Members of the nomination jury
Marcel Barsotti, film music composer Marcel Barsotti, film music composer
Henning Lohner, film music composer Guy Farley, film music composer
Bettina Oberli, film director Bettina Oberli, film director
Frank Strobel, conductor of the award concert    Frank Strobel, conductor of the award concert
Axel Tillement, co-director of MAXIMALL Axel Tillement, co-director of MAXIMALL




The International Film Music Competition was first introduced in 2012 and is a collaboration between Zurich Film Festival and Forum Filmmusik. Its venue alternates between Zurich Tonhalle and one of the festival cinemas; in 2015 participants will be asked to score a short film for big band with strings.

Main Partner
Supported by